A Year Ago: December 2013

It was almost a year ago that I revealed my big news to my family; the big news was that I would be moving back to the east coast and living within an hour from them for the first time in ten years. Obviously special news like that required a grand gesture, especially since I had been keeping it a secret from them for almost four months. I literally felt like I was going to burst at the seams if I had to wait much longer to share what the Lord had been doing in my life those past four months (and really since September 2012 – more about that journey to DC here).

As I’ve shared before, after lots of consideration and prayer (from lots of people!) God confirmed for me that I was to move to Washington, D.C. to be closer to family and to help plant Redeemer City Church. By November it was clear that I was going to go, irrespective of what that meant for my existing communities of loved ones in Cali, my job and my everyday life at that time. Once the Lord worked out the logistics and blessed me with the opportunity to keep my job all that was left was to tell my family.IMG_4949

I couldn’t just share this with them over the phone or Skype; it had to be in person. It had to be a surprise within a surprise.

My roomie asked me to share about a cherished Christmas memory for her “Spread the Christmas Joy” blog series and I picked this memory. It was an honor to guest post and to share how awesome it was to surprise my family last year. So without further ado, check out how my “Two Christmas Surprises for the Price of One” turned out.

Leave a Reply

