Gallery

An Unexpected Friendship. An Anticipated Reunion.

I’d like to introduce you to a dear friend of mine. Her name is Marla and I absolutely adore her. She is a friend I met in college and this fall will mark ten years that we’ve been friends  – ten years that we’ve been sisters.

Wow. A lot happens in ten years.374_38548461711_9741_n

Needless to say, she is one of my oldest , closest and dearest friends. But she is also a friend I never saw coming, an unexpected confidant and sister in Christ. We really were unlikely friends when we first crossed paths all those years ago and I’m so grateful for the role she has played in my life and the fact that God knows what He is doing when He brings people in to our lives – He has a plan for everything!

The Lord has used her to challenge me to love Him more, to truly see myself before Him and others, and to not take life so seriously all of the time. I learned so much from her in our time as college roommates, as spiritual life directors on campus and in our many travels together.

We’ve cried together. We’ve laughed together. We’ve matured in Christ together. We’ve plotted together (oh the prank stories!).

110_7147840194_9384_n374_38548531711_3365_n28348_393988131711_5923542_n

We’ve gone on double dates together. We’ve gone through break-ups together. We’ve seen each other go through highs in our individual walks in the Lord and we’ve seen each other go through the lows  – and we’re still friends! 😉

Our friendship has survived living in a girls dorm full of drama, sharing a room, living in different states, being in different time zones and even living in different countries. (Thankfully we had Skype!) We’ve got a history of good times (great times really) and I am blessed to call this woman friend. The point is we’ve lived life together in the Lord, both in close proximity and across the miles, and our friendship has only gotten stronger.

1077046_10153050055125195_889413644_oSo why the sentimental blog you ask? Well, I received a timely birthday card from her on Friday evening and it made me tear up to think about the fact that we’re about to be reunited by living within driving distance of one another again! That’s right, watch out VA and DC because this duo is back and ready for the fun times.

How amazing is it that the Lord’s new beginning in my life with moving me to DC to be a part of a church plant also includes such a sweet reunion between kindred spirits? I didn’t see it coming and, yet again, I didn’t expect God to reunite us as He has chosen to.  Just like when He brought together a girl from Korea (Marla) and a girl from Baltimore (me) at a school in Boston to be unlikely friends, He is blessing us by allowing us to live closer together after such unpredictable events in both our lives resulted in us moving to those locations in the first place.  It’s really intentional and wonderful on God’s part and I love it.

One thought on “An Unexpected Friendship. An Anticipated Reunion.

  1. I am at a loss for words, friend! Thank you for sparking recollection of some incredible memories! I think I could sit here and bask in them for hours. 🙂

Leave a Reply

